Rule #42 apparently…..

Last week I used my job to full advantage. Scheduled for a 5 day Miami trip, I packed up my bike and headed to central Florida to catch up with a few good friends and get some nice warm weather training in at the same time…or so I thought.

The conditions in Florida are great for training as its not too hot at this time of year and sunshine is aplenty. Although the first ride out, we ended up riding into a heavy downpour which I predicted as being a ‘passing shower’. It lasted for 6 hours!! My friend, Stew Mackie, will never trust my weather predictions again. Although he did get his own back the next day assuring me that the long leg to home was going to be a ‘tailwind’…..hmmmmm

Whilst having a nice chilled out evening (once I had dried out), it was pointed out to me by Meghan (Stew’s wife) about rule 42. Now I had no idea what she was talking about, but it soon became apparent that Rule 42 is part of a set of rules that are to be followed by Cyclists. Rule 42 is thus….
Rule 42 – A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.
If it’s preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run, it is not called a bike race, it is called duathlon or a triathlon. Neither of which is a bike race. Also keep in mind that one should only swim in order to prevent drowning, and should only run if being chased. And even then, one should only run fast enough to prevent capture. Reference: Velominati.com

Thankfully, Meghan has a successful business so I cannot see her being a motivational speaker for wannabe Triathletes anytime soon, but I have to admit it did make me realise what a challenge it is that I am taking on.

To some, it may not be that big a deal. Especially if you have been partaking in Tri’s or endurance events for a long time. However I am a firm believer that any task that involves stepping outside your own comfort zone and ability level is a major personal challenge. With dedication and a good support network I am hoping that despite my fears, I can complete this challenge to the best of my ability.

Thank you to all the people that have donated so far. I am well on my way to the first £1000. There are two finish lines that I want to cross, although one of them I wish to go beyond. I am sure you can figure out which one that is!!

If you wish to support, please visit my Just Giving Page….

http://www.justgiving.com/jamesmckeownironman

on that note… I am off for a swim!!

James

Trying out my new TT bike in Florida!
Trying out my new TT bike in Florida!

Leave a comment